Media Season 4 Season 5

Surprise! Catch the Throne Volume 2 is out now on iTunes!

So Catch the Throne: Volume II was supposed to be released on March 17th, but HBO surprised everyone by air-dropping the album into the iTunes jungle yesterday, March 12th. With the recent news that Apple will be partnering with HBO for their new standalone service HBO Now, perhaps this was just a way for HBO to say “thank you” to Apple. In any case, the mixtape is out there, and you can get it from iTunes for the low, low price of free–just like last year’s mixtape.

More details and full tracklist after the jump. Talib Kweli Photo Credit – Billboard

Here’s the full tracklist, which, in HBO’s words, “features artists from the R&B, electronic, Latin, heavy metal and rap worlds”. It’s an eclectic bunch, to be sure:

1. Method Man – The Oath
2. MNDR – Run for Cover
3. Ty Dolla $ign – Never Back Down
4. Killswitch Engage – Loyalty
5. Kap G – Surrender Now
6. Melanie Fiona – Fight Through It
7. Snoop Dogg – Lannister’s Anthem
8. Yandel – Marcando Territorio
9. Anthrax – Soror Irrumator
10. Estelle – Let Me Go
11. Talib Kweli – Lord of the Light
12. Mastodon – White Walker
13. Raquel Sofia – Legends
14. Stalley – All Mine
15. Mushroomhead – Among the Crows​

Last year’s mixtape, which has been streamed over 2.5 million times to date, was entirely rap-focused, but we knew from the jump that this year’s tape was going to feature more metal bands, as Killswitch Engage was the first band known to be working on it. Additionally, these tracks are more focused on the themes of Season 4. There’s Mastodon’s contribution, of course, but also Method Man’s “The Oath”, which refers to the oath of the Night’s Watch (relevant considering how much Jon Snow’s loyalties were in question last year) and Mushroomhead’s “Among the Crows”, a fitting title for a season partially based on A Feast For Crows. Like last year’s mixtape, Volume II‘s tracks all feature music and dialogue sampled from the show itself, which will hopefully only enhance what Ramin Djawadi already brings to the show with his gorgeous compositions.

So, the mixtape is here, and you can enjoy it–for free, and ahead of schedule! If only Season 5 could arrive in similar fashion.


  • Do you also plan to put a download link for all those who don’t have iTunes?

    That would be really great.