HBO announces release date for Catch the Throne: The Mixtape Vol. II

Yesterday we heard the first full single from Catch the Throne: The Mixtape Volume II, with Talib Kweli’s “Lord of the Light”, and today HBO has made it official with a drop date for the entire album.

“Today, HBO announced the release date of the Catch the Throne: The Mixtape of March 17 along with the list of artists featured on the second installment of the Mixtape, for the Emmy® and Golden Globe® winning series Game of Thrones. Produced by Launch Point Records, the 15-track mixtape features diverse artists representing Game of Thrones families, leveraging themes and highlights from season 4″

Find out more about Catch the Throne Volume II, after the jump.

The official press release goes on to talk about the importance of using Season 4 of Game of Thrones as a backdrop, and an overall theme of “fire and ice”.

“Showcasing the importance of music in Game of Thrones, each song on the mixtape samples music from the show’s season 4 soundtrack. This year’s mixtape also weaves in the overarching theme of fire and ice, providing listeners with an exciting line-up of heavy metal and hip-hop artists. Building on the success of Volume 1, with over 2.5MM streams to date, Volume 2 will feature artists from the R&B, electronic, Latin, heavy metal and rap worlds. Each artist was aligned with one of the Game of Thrones families, helping to determine the themes that are illustrated in their track.”

A full list of artist for Volume II, is as follows:

  • Anthrax
  • Estelle
  • Kap G
  • Killswitch Engage
  • Mastodon
  • Melanie Fiona
  • Method Man
  • MNDR
  • Mushroomhead
  • Raquel Sofia
  • Snoop Dogg
  • Stalley
  • Talib Kweli
  • Ty Dolla $ign
  • Yandel

All artists involved in the mixtape are fans of the show and were eager to reinterpret key moments.

“I am a big fan of the books and the series,” said Talib Kweli. “As an MC, I’m not adverse to the concept of battles and ability to tell compelling stories and the Game of Thrones series does just that. It is the reason I wanted to be a part of this mixtape.”

Catch the Throne: The Mixtape Vol. 2 will be released March 17th via SoundCloud, free of charge.

“Catch The Throne: The Mixtape Vol. 1 is still available on Soundcloud. Listeners are encouraged to share using the hashtag #CatchTheThrone.”

It looks like the main difference between volumes 1 and 2, will be that three metal bands have been added the mixtape, with Mastadon joining Killswitch Engage and Anthrax. The March 17th drop date gives fans almost a full month to get hyped for Season 5 with some killer Game of Thrones inspired music.