8 science fiction book series to read if you love Dune

If Dune: Part Two is giving you the urge to dive into more science fiction books, there are plenty of other incredible ones out there that will appeal to those who love Arrakis.
The Phoenix King by Aparna Verma. Image: Orbit.
The Phoenix King by Aparna Verma. Image: Orbit. / Orbit
facebooktwitterreddit
Prev
1 of 8
Next

This post contains affiliate links, where we may receive a percentage of any sale made from the links on this page. Prices and availability accurate as of the time of publication.

Dune: Part Two drops into theaters this week, and by all accounts it's going to be epic. If it's making you yearn for more great science fiction, fear not; I have news, passed down from the prophets of old. There are lots of great science fiction book series out there, many which bear some similarity to Dune. Whether you've read all the Dune books by Frank Herbert, the bajillion other Dune books by Brian Herbert and Kevin J. Anderson, or you just want to visit some world different from Arrakis, there's likely a book series out there to fulfill your desire.

We've rounded up eight book series worth checking out if you love Dune. So pull up your Goodreads and get ready to discover some of your next favorite series.

Hyperion by Dan Simmons.
Discover Del Rey's "Hyperion" by Dan Simmons on Amazon. / Del Rey

The Hyperion Cantos by Dan Simmons

If you want a book series that is similar to Dune in terms of its grand scope, science fiction trappings, and contemplation of lofty ideas — e.g. the complications of organized religion, the clash between humanity and AI, and whether we can move against fate — then The Hyperion Cantos by Dan Simmons is an easy recommendation. The first novel of this four book series, Hyperion, was published in 1989, and it's another sci-fi classic. No, it doesn't have quite the reach of a series like Dune, but its influence on the genre is still pretty huge. It remains relevant today for a reason.

The basic set up of the first book is that, on the eve of a looming intergalactic war which will reshape the cosmos, six travelers set out to the Time Tombs on the planet Hyperion, a place where time functions in strange ways and artifacts from bygone eras linger. There, they hope to get answers to their deepest questions by confronting the Shrike, a metal monster who dwells among the Tombs — and just maybe, find a way to stop pending doom.

Hyperion is inspired by The Canterbury Tales, and its unique structure is one of its strengths. While the mismatched group of pilgrims travels together, they each share the story of how they ended up on the journey. Each one of those backstories makes use of different narrative styles and writing techniques, which makes for an engrossing read. One is told primarily through journals, another as a first-person account, yet another as a sci-fi noir detective thriller, etc. Half the fun of the first book is seeing what new layer Simmons will peel back next, and it never disappoints.

But the journey to the Time Tombs is only the beginning. An important thing to know about The Hyperion Cantos is that this series is built out of two duologies, and that each one tells a complete story. Hyperion ends with a hard cut off that really doesn't resolve anything; to experience the rest of the tale, you have to read The Fall of Hyperion. Fast forward several decades after that and you have Endymion and The Rise of Endymion, which follow a new set of characters as they navigate the fallout from the first two books.

If there's one series out there I would gladly hand to any Dune fan and say "hey, you'd probably like this," it would be The Hyperion Cantos. But since we live in a beautiful time where we're spoiled for choice in our reading material, there are plenty more options to choose from: